RSS

Original Coney Island Sauce (Flint, Michigan Style)

17 Mar

First of all, I have been sick the last couple of weeks with one Hell of a cold and just have not had the ambition or the inkling to cook or post anything……

I am feeling much better, but still not 100 %

Here is what I made for dinner last night, if you have never had these you don’t know what you’re missing.


This is my recipe for Original Flint, Michigan Coney Island Sauce!

NOT CHILI DOGS!!!!! Coney Island Dogs!!!!

It has taken me a very long time to get this recipe to the point of perfection but I believe it is there, and so does the rest of my family.

The first things you will need:

1 tablespoon of butter

1 tablespoon of margarine

1 ½ pounds of ground round

In a saucepan cook the beef, butter and margarine…breaking it up with a fork so it’s in nice and small pieces (or if you have a meat grinder that works perfect, that’s what I use) cook until it is no longer pink. I then drain the excess grease but it is not necessary.

Next you will need to add all these Ingredients to your cooked beef:

2 tablespoons – minced onions

3 tablespoons – chili powder

3 tablespoons – prepared mustard

1 teaspoon – garlic powder

½ teaspoon – salt

½ teaspoon – pepper

1 – 6 oz can of tomato paste

1 – 6 oz can of water

Note: I always make a double batch because it just goes way to fast at my house!

Stir, Stir, Stir! Let simmer until thick.

While your pot is simmering, you need:

6 – KOEGEL’S VIENNA HOT DOGS (no other brand is quite the same here so please do not skimp buy the best! KOEGEL’S!) Grind them up and then add them to your beef mixture in the pot and stir it all up together. Let simmer for another 20 to 30 minutes please…..

To get the true experience prepare your hot dogs as follows: Bun, dog, coney sauce, mustard on top of coney sauce and then sprinkle a few onions on top. Enjoy!!!   Note : I always buy Koegel’s brand hot dogs!


My Macaroni Salad

1 pound macaroni

1 can of peas

1 can tuna in water (drained)

A little onion if ya like

1 medium tomato if ya like

miracle whip salad dressing to mix it all up.

We like ours nice and creamy…..

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2012 in cooking, Recipes

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Original Coney Island Sauce (Flint, Michigan Style)

  1. Melissa

    August 31, 2013 at 1:42 PM

    thank you for posting this recipe. I live in Massachusetts and frequently visit Flint Michigan with my family as my husband is from there and we love the Coney sauce at Angelos and those hot dogs. We were just there this summer and I brought some hot dogs back but did not grab the sauce so this is great. It tastes really good.thank you again!

     
    • joeandjulieskitchen

      August 31, 2013 at 3:24 PM

      your very welcome and i am glad you liked it! we love Angelos as well, i have family that lives over that way.

       
      • Jennifer SKandarsky

        October 6, 2013 at 1:35 PM

        Thanks for this recipe! I grew up on Angelo’s and now live 2 hours away, and so missed the sauce and the recipes I have found are mostly NY Style. Nothing beats Flint, MI Style!!!

         
      • joeandjulieskitchen

        October 6, 2013 at 6:19 PM

        your welcome, i hope you enjoy it! It’s not exact but as close as possible…

         
  2. shay dumas

    October 24, 2013 at 1:49 PM

    I was born and raised in Flint and I’m in TN now. The closest thing we have is sonic……not anymore I will be making these at least 2x a month at home. Thank you so much for bringing a piece of home to the south for me. Now if I could get a Big Johns sandwich that would’ve made my day.

     
    • joeandjulieskitchen

      October 24, 2013 at 6:20 PM

      Your welcome Shay! I make them about twice a month as well, sometimes more! What I do is make a double batch and freeze half of it for the next time, then I just have to heat it up! Super easy that way! I love Big Johns too, but have not tried to make them yet! Enjoy and have a great day!

       
  3. Tracy mcAfee

    December 8, 2013 at 10:24 AM

    Sounds good but what about cumin? I always put cumin in mine, gives that real authentic coney taste!

     
    • joeandjulieskitchen

      December 8, 2013 at 4:51 PM

      Tracy, you could add the cumin to it as well if you like…but my chili powder has cumin in it, so i do not add more. I lived in the Flint area for a long time and still have family in that area. This really tastes like the coney’s we have always eaten. Thanks for checking out my blog and hope you and yours have a Merry Christmas.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 194 other followers

