RSS

Cream Puffs!!!

31 Jan

My Boss Sandy told me about these yummy little things, she said they were very easy to make and that her family gobbled them right up! So today I decided that I would give it a try.

This Recipe makes about 20 to 25 Cream Puffs

First off you will need :

2 (3.5 ounce) packages of instant pudding of your favorite flavor ( I used Vanilla )

Mix according to box directions I cut the milk back to 1 3/4 cup per package so it was a little thicker then I put it in a ziplock bag and tossed it in the fridge for later use.

Next Preheat your oven to 425 degrees

Then You will need:

1/2 cup of Butter

1 cup of water

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup of all purpose flour

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon of almond extract

1 tablespoon of sugar

4 eggs

To start with I use a Kitchen Aid Mixer so I first put my Flour, salt, sugar and extracts in the mixing bowl so it was ready.

Bring your butter and water to a rolling boil in a medium sized pot, then transfer it to the flour mixture and mix well until it forms a ball.

Wisk your eggs together and then add them to the dough but mix well so the eggs do not cook (as the dough is still pretty hot when you add the eggs).

This is when I had my doubts whether this was gonna turn out because the dough was more of a batter, it seemed to me like it was to runny.

Ok so now that you have everything all mixed up and ready to go you will need a couple cookie sheets lined with parchment paper. Drop by tablespoonfuls ( I used a ice cream scoop, but next time I will drop them with a tablespoon so they are not so large ) on cookie sheets and bake for 20 to 25 minutes, until golden brown. Centers should be dry. When you take them out of oven poke a toothpick into the side of them to let the steam out so they do not fall.

When the shells are cool, either split them in half and fill with pudding mixture or use a pastry bag to pipe the pudding into the shells. sprinkle the tops with powdered sugar and you are done.

These were a big hit at my house as well! Here are my Pictures!!!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2012 in cooking, Recipes

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Cream Puffs!!!

  1. Jeff

    February 4, 2012 at 6:41 PM

    I just showed my wife your post. They look so yummy. I wish there was a way I could send you a couple of sausages and you can send me a batch of puffs.

    -Jeff K
    http://www.nobodybeatsmymeat.wordpress.com

     
    • joeandjulieskitchen

      February 5, 2012 at 7:08 PM

      Thanks Jeff, Yes that would be nice, your sausages look great and I bet the taste even better. Just have your wife make you up a batch of the puffs, they are very easy and very yummy!

       
  2. sugaredpecan

    February 4, 2012 at 1:11 AM

    I’m guessing these are incredible!

     
  3. Mama's Gotta Bake

    February 3, 2012 at 11:41 PM

    I loved cream puffs as a kid. I haven’t had one in a long time, but your recipe has inspired me!

     
  4. filingawaycupcakes

    February 3, 2012 at 9:38 PM

    Yummmm I really love this idea! I was going to make something similar, but with chocolate on top:]

     
  5. Must Come Hungry

    February 3, 2012 at 5:33 PM

    Hi Julie, I love all your recipes! They seem so easy and delicious, I can’t wait to try some of them 🙂 Here’s a little bit of foodie blog love for you to pass along!

    http://mustcomehungry.wordpress.com/2012/02/03/liebster-blog-award/

     
  6. Teresa

    January 31, 2012 at 9:07 PM

    looks good julie an joe will have to try thanks ..

     
  7. Bonnie Collier

    January 31, 2012 at 4:09 PM

    omg, these look so great, i can’t to give them a try….
    Thanks for sharing Julie

     

Leave a Reply

 
