RSS

7-Up Pound Cake

27 Feb

 Over the weekend I saw this post on Facebook and it was about Jeanne Robertson‘s 7-up pound cake so in my weekend kitchen adventures I decided to try this wonderful recipe. It sounded great, I love pound cake and it did actually turn out great, but in my haste to get this in the oven I forgot to flour the pans (opps) what a mistake that was! It was almost impossible to get them out, they look horrible, but they were very moist and tasted great! I did not add the glaze, I don’t like glaze on my pound cakes….Next time I will make sure those pans get floured!

Ingredients:

1 cup butter or margarine

1/2 cup shortening

3 cups sugar

1-1/2 teaspoons lemon extract

 1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

 5 eggs

3 cups all-purpose flour

7 fluid ounces of 7-up

  Instructions:

 In a large bowl, place butter, shortening, and sugar. Beat until it is fluffy and well mixed.

 Add in lemon extract and vanilla flavoring.

 Add in all of the eggs and beat again until blended in.

 Add in all of your flour and then seven up.

 Mix until smooth and creamy. Pour into greased and floured tube pan.

 Bake at 300 for one hour, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Let it sit for thirty minutes before turning out.

 Glaze:

 1-1/2 cups confectioner’s sugar

 2 tablespoons milk

 1/4 tsp lemon extract

 Combine all glaze ingredients and stir until smooth. Add more milk if too thick, more confectioner’s sugar if too thin. Pour over cooled cake. If you make these to freeze, don’t glaze them first, wait til you thaw them then add the glaze.


 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 27, 2012 in cooking, Recipes

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “7-Up Pound Cake

  1. Cindy L Riemersma

    February 27, 2012 at 11:51 PM

    Hi Joe and Julie,

    I have got to try this! Thanks for sharing!

    -Cindy

     
    • joeandjulieskitchen

      February 29, 2012 at 8:26 AM

      Hello Cindy, thanks for visiting our blog and I am glad you found something you would like to try, visit us again soon. Enjoy!

       
      • Cindy L Riemersma

        February 29, 2012 at 2:31 PM

        I absolutely will! I already have needed ingredients for the peanut butter cake recipe you posted yesterday on my shopping list! Very excited! If ever you do open your own restaurant, I would be happy to post an ad for it on my blog!

        -Cindy

         
  2. filingawaycupcakes

    February 27, 2012 at 10:02 PM

    Love soda recipes!

     
    • joeandjulieskitchen

      February 29, 2012 at 8:18 AM

      I loved this recipe, I had never made anything like it before. I was very impressed with it. I love trying out new things.

       
  3. kristina

    February 27, 2012 at 11:50 AM

    oh i really want to make this, sounds delish!!
    xoxo

     
    • joeandjulieskitchen

      February 29, 2012 at 8:16 AM

      Kristina, it is a very tasty and moist cake, just don’t forget to flour the pans like I did and you will have perfect pound cake…enjoy!

       

Leave a Reply

 
